Research Report 2016/2017

8.   Study grants and bursaries

The PRF bursary scheme was approved in 1994 and the first study bursary for postgraduate studies was awarded for the 1995 academic year. We are proud to look at a period of 22 years that included a total of 72 bursaries awarded to deserving candidates for Masters' and Doctorate studies. The aim of the bursary scheme is to train deserving candidates to allow them to contribute to high quality scientific research after completing their studies. This includes, in particular, research aimed at promoting the production of protein for animal consumption.

Students are also encouraged to publish, in co-operation with their mentors, the research results. This includes publication in scientific journals and/or popular magazines. Management summaries of theses and manuscripts are also published on the PRF website and data base.

Bursaries for Masters' studies are awarded for a period of two study years and three years in case of Doctorate studies. Bursaries awarded for this year were approved by the Bursary Committee (a sub-committee of the Marketing Committee) and were as follows:

M.Sc studies

  1. Mr W de Jager (second application): "An integrated model to project animal protein consumption in South Africa", University of the Free State.
  2. Ms KZ Neethling (second application): "Die effek van verskillende kombinasies van proteïen- en energiebronne op veselvertering van ruvoere", Stellenbosch University.
  3. Ms JA Engelbrecht (second application): "The evaluation of alternative protein sources (lupins, canola and canola oilcake) in ostrich nutrition", Stellenbosch University.
  4. Mr A Coetzee (second application): "Stikstof bo-bemesting op canola: Tyd en toedieningstempo's", Stellenbosch University.
  5. Mr PJG le Roux (first application): "Die evaluasie van tand- en skyfoopmakers om canola te vestig op grond met verskillende fisiese, chemiese en biologiese toestande (grondkwaliteit)", Stellenbosch University.

PhD studies

  1. Ms M du Plessis (third application): "Molecular markers for drought tolerance in soybean", University of Pretoria.
  2. Ms E Jordaan (third application): "Epidemiology and population structure of Macrophomina phaseolina (Charcoal rot) on sunflower and soybean", University of Pretoria.
  3. Ms L van Emmenes (second application): "The use of fly larvae meal as an alternative protein source in the diets of monogastric animals, farmer, consumer and environment", Stellenbosch University.

Completed theses received

During the year under review the following theses were received from bursary recipients who had successfully completed their studies.

  1. Mr W de Jager: "Forecast estimates of protein for animals in South Africa", M.Sc, University of the Free State.